Solar Flare: Science Fiction News


Providing the Information That Sci-Fi Fans Need

2004 Nebula Award Winners Announced

The Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA) announced the winners of the 2004 Nebula Awards in Chicago on April 30th. The Nebula Awards are voted on by active members of the SFWA (currently around 1,500), an association which includes many of the leading writers of science fiction and fantasy.

  • Best Novel of 2004: Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Best Novella of 2004: “The Green Leopard Plague” by Walter Jon Williams
  • Best Novelette of 2004: “Basement Magic” by Ellen Klages
  • Best Short Story of 2004: “Coming to Terms” by Eileen Gunn
  • Best Script of 2004: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

The Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award was presented to Anne McCaffrey for lifetime achievement in the field. She is only the 22nd writer so honored since 1974.

A special “Service to SFWA” award was given to Kevin O’Donnell Jr. in recognition of his 16 years of volunteer service to the organization.

Eoghann Irving is amongst other things the creator and Editor of Solar Flare. He has a life long interest in all forms of science fiction and fantasy and a pressing need to share this interest with anyone who will listen. Find out more at his personal website

Like It? Share It!
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • TwitThis
  • Mixx

No Comments, Comment or Ping

Reply to “2004 Nebula Award Winners Announced”